Scottish Jazz Awards


The Scottish Jazz Awards celebrate Scotland’s vibrant jazz scene and recognise its standout musical talent. A panel of industry specialists, including media, press and promoters from across the UK, have carefully selected the shortlists for five coveted awards.  The winners are set to be crowned during a virtual ceremony on Sunday 18 October which will include special guests and exclusive live performances.

From 12 noon on Monday 21 September, you can vote for your favourite acts and decide which of Scotland’s most revered jazz musicians walk away with a Scottish Jazz Award.

Categories for the 8th Scottish Jazz Awards are:

Rising Star Award sponsored by Musicians’ Union 

Best Band Award sponsored by Love Supreme Jazz Festival

Best Vocalist Award sponsored by Whighams Jazz Club

Best Instrumentalist Award sponsored by ESP Music Rentals

Best Album Award sponsored by Birnam CD

As the Awards were moved from their scheduled date in May 2020 due to Covid19, the time period for eligible album releases was also extended to cover albums released up until the end of July 2020.

Last year’s winners were ineligible for nomination in the same category for this year.

Two further award winners will be chosen by the panel including the Services To Scottish Jazz Award sponsored by Ticketmaster which celebrates those working behind the scenes in the industry.

The Lifetime Achievement Award in association with Help Musicians Scotland will also be presented on the night. Previous winners include Martin Taylor, Fionna Duncan, Carol Kidd, Bobby Wellins, Tam White and Ronnie Rae.

The Scottish Jazz Awards are produced as an independent event by the organisers of Glasgow Jazz Festival and supported by the National Lottery through Creative Scotland.

To vote in the 8th Scottish Jazz Awards simply make your selections below. Voting closes at 5pm on Monday 5 October.

The Virtual Ceremony will be streamed online at 6pm on Sunday 18 October via our Glasgow Jazz Festival My Player channel.


the Festival


Jazzfest Supporters
© Glasgow International Jazz Festival 2019
Glasgow International Jazz Festival Ltd, The Courtyard, 22 Hayburn Street, Glasgow G11 6DG. Registered Charity No. SCO 06649
Contact us:
Site by: